I like the neatness of the first screenshot that @jenlampton proposed on #1321 (comment).

Placing the same warning message twice on the search settings form:

and then again on the confirm page:

looks really too excessive.
I do understand the initial concern for some people who could press the button without realizing the consequences. However, in fact the consequences are not so scary, because (1) no data is lost anyway and then (2) those who pressed the button will see the warning on the confirm page anyway.
Making the button outstanding with the scary text in red color was sufficient enough, so if possible please remove the description text.
Recent comments
The inability to check for and install updates makes website development and maintenance extremely difficult. Managing over ten websites across two different hosting providers—one of which is...
Unable to run update - fails with Connection timed out
Thanks for the response, Herb! Since I posted that I did some more testing and have posted this issue https://github.com/backdrop-contrib/tfa_basic/issues/33 In fact, if both email...
TFA - how to setup fallback options 'per user'
I'll test this tomorrow to see if I can replicate the problem and report back. It's not "per user" so it should be working.
TFA - how to setup fallback options 'per user'