A site I maintain in Drupal 7 uses the theme "Mayo," which inherently has a feature allowing users to increase or decrease text size globally; it looks like this in my site:

screen capture of text-size control

Is there either a Backdrop theme including this, or else a contrib module that could easily add this kind of function?

Accepted answer

Browsers can do a better job and also provide more features like high contrast for accessibility. That's why we don't usually see websites anymore with a text resize button.

Comments

I am new to Backdrop but not to Drupal. Does this mean it may work as-is, or could work with some recoding?

coder_upgrade works well with text resize, i have done it without trouble.

Olafski's picture

Hm, I don't know any such a theme or module for Backdrop. However, with modern browsers and a responsive theme a text size feature shouldn't be necessary anymore. (I see that some clients ask for it; personally, I would recommend them to do without.)

Agreed it's not necessary. I personally resize text with keyboard command and have done so for many years. The motivation for the request is only that the site in question is for a population that tends to be both older and not highly experienced with browser usage, so it would just be an extra bit of help that's immediately visible.

Browsers can do a better job and also provide more features like high contrast for accessibility. That's why we don't usually see websites anymore with a text resize button.

The motivation for the request is only that the site in question is for a population that tends to be both older and not highly experienced with browser usage... 

Okay... I'm that older guy you're talking about. Yet, I am not inexperienced in using browsers. So please explain: How do I change the text size on a given website from within my browser? 

ericfoy,