Hi,

I'm fairly new to Backdrop so apologies for a basic question.

I have tried added some simple php to the body of a page using the edit tab and the source option, and using the full html editor.

When I save the page my <?php tag is comment out i.e. replaced with <!--?php.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.

Accepted answer

You're missing the 'PHP filter' module which makes this possible. However this was removed from Backdrop core and I don't believe a replacement exists in contrib. This was for security reasons, so I think the recommended way to add custom PHP code is either via a module or theme function...

Comments

mazze's picture

Hi Richard,

welcome to Backdrop... so did you enter PHP code into the Text field? Or did you edit a template file?

Hi and thanks.

When logged into my website as admin I get two tabs, View and Edit. I selected Edit and entered the code into the Body (Edit Summary) part of the page. (Is this called a block?)

You're missing the 'PHP filter' module which makes this possible. However this was removed from Backdrop core and I don't believe a replacement exists in contrib. This was for security reasons, so I think the recommended way to add custom PHP code is either via a module or theme function...

Ok thanks. Sorry for the big delay in replying. What I can't figure out is, once I've written a php module, how to I actually call that functionality in a backdrop webpage? All the php examples/tutorials online assume that the php is embedded in an html page within <?php... ?> tags which are unsupported in Backdrop.

indigoxela's picture

What I can't figure out is, once I've written a php module, how to I actually call that functionality in a backdrop webpage?

Backdrop uses "hooks" for that and has tons of them. If your module wants to inject something into page markup, you'd, for instance, use template_preprocess_page().

Doing the first steps with Backdrop might be easier, if you start with a theme, though.