Problem: Uploading images using the CKEditor file uploader, or the uploader for image fields, to Backdrop sites does not work on iOS devices, yet works fine on PC's.

Isn't this bothering anyone else?  There is an issue reported in github.com/backdrop/backdrop-issues/issues/4185 that seems to think it is just an issue with uploading camera images from iPhones.  But it is more than that - the image uploader just doesn't work on iOS devices, not in the editor or for image fields. 

And I don't believe it's an Apple issue either, since the image uploaders work under iOS just fine for Drupal 7 sites.  I haven't tested with Androids but for iphones and ipads, old and new, the image uploader under Backdrop shows greyed out image files and will not allow them to upload. I have several sites, on different servers, and for all of them, I can upload fine from PC's, but not from iPads or iphones. 

I'm not a programmer, just a site builder, so I have no way to trouble shoot the issue. But it's very frustrating that it doesn't work, and it seems like something that would be important to a lot of people. Yet I don't see anyone else posting about it, or any progress toward fixing it. So my first question was not rhetorical - isn't it bothering anyone else?

Thanks for any ideas or suggestions. Also, I'm happy to help with testing if I can.

Most helpful answers

I also encountered this problem. My client uploads photos from his Android phone to his website through the image field without any problems, but he cannot upload photos in the same field from another iPhone smartphone.

I solved this problem by installing the File Resumable Upload module

https://backdropcms.org/project/file_resup

This module changes the dialog for uploading JPG photos so that it works without problems on the iPhone, at least I have not encountered any problems so far.