I'm new to Backdrop and i'm a little bit lost.  I've watched videos and read all I can about pages and layouts.  What I don't understand how to do is when creating a new page how do I set it up to utilize a layout?  I don't see the fields to do this with even after all the videos and articles i've read. They've all described the relationships between the content and the layout, but none have said "enter X into Y".  As with any CMS, I understand there is a bit of a learning curve but this just isn't clicking for me.

I'd appreciate it if someone could provide me these details or refer me to an article/video that addresses this.

Accepted answer

I don't think you need the visibility condition that just replicates the path field.

Other than that, then yes, that should work. If you want to tailor blocks as you indicated you might want to, you can add visibility conditions to individual blocks as needed

Comments

Hi @Rob_V - In the layout you want, you need to create a visibility condition, either for a single path, multiple paths or for a pattern of path.

As an example, let's say you want a layout to be used for all blog posts.  You create a content type of blog and set the path to automatically start with "blog/" followed by a unique combination.

You then create a visibility condition of "blog/*" for that layout and it should apply to all those pages.

You can specify a layout to apply to specific paths as well.

So then on the page content I would add a condition in the URL Alias field under URL Settings?

The visibility condition is in the layout configuration (Structure > layouts)

layouts

In Structure > Content types > Page [or whichever content type you want to use] you can set a default URL alias pattern using tokens.

The URL alias field in page content allows you to override the url alias pattern if you need to.