I initially started rebuilding my Drupal 8 site locally (and manually copying content) using both Drupal 9 and Backdrop CMS. At some point, my Backdrop installation got messed up, so I went on to finish the site with Drupal 9. Now that it's ready to deploy, I'm thinking that Drupal 9 is making my life way more complicated than necessary - I'm a content creator / photographer, not a dedicated web developer.

Now I'm thinking of starting over again with Backdrop. A large percentage of the content is built around photography which in D9 is set up using the Media module and Colorbox. In Backdrop, is the basic Image type similar to what it was in D7, or will I be able to add caption fields. Will I be able to reuse media as is possible with D9?

If I do this, I will simply copy and paste content from the D9 site as I did when I updated from D8, unless there is an easier way. The 3-contributor site has a lot of content, but it's doable.

Would appreciate any suggestions that might help make maintaining things easier going forward. I'm guessing using GIT is the way to go, right? (That's been a huge stumbling block with D9).

Accepted answer

@DanM - Sorry to hear about your frustrating journey.

My quick answer is that you are asking some fairly big questions with limited information. If you are able to stop into one of our online "office hours" I think that we could be more helpful and discuss more options. Office hours happen on Wednesdays and you can find more information here: https://backdropcms.org/news/events

> will I be able to add caption fields

Unless you have very specific requirements, adding captions should not be a problem in Backdrop. I suspect that there may even be more than one way to do this and it may be an issue of deciding on the best solution for your use case.

> Will I be able to reuse media as is possible with D9?